Active programs

Careers in Conservation Scholarship Program

Purpose: To increase the number of people working in the field of natural resource management and agriculture by supporting students attending NC community colleges and universities in undergraduate and graduate programs in related fields.

Support: Over $158,000 from the Bowman Family and other private donors have been awarded to support 140 annual scholarships since the program’s inception.

Current Work: The 2021 applicant period closed February 7. To receive future announcements, send a message on the Contact Page.

The application period opens annually in October and closes in February. Funding awards are announced in April. Eligible applicants can receive up to $5,000 per year, renewable in future years. The selection committee typically awards 10 to 15 scholarships a year at $1,000 per student.

All applicants should have a declared major in agronomy, agricultural or civil engineering, sustainable land management, agriculture education, animal science, forestry, natural resource conservation or management, plant science, soil science, water management, water quality, wildlife management or other closely related degree programs.  In addition, all applicants must be attending a North Carolina college or university.


The 2021 / 2022 Scholars List

  • Cassandra Bolton, Wake County, NC State University
  • Rebecca Burkhart, Wilkes County, NC State University
  • Lila Cantrell, Avery County, NC State University
  • Reagan Dunn, Davidson County, NC State University
  • Leah Freeman, Wake County, NC A & T State University
  • Hannah Gentry, Wilkes County, NC State University
  • Laurel Gray, Iredell County, NC State University
  • Rachel Gray, Iredell County, University of Mount Olive
  • Emma Jolly, Sampson County, NC State University
  • Kirsten Keleher, Wake County, NC State University
  • Camryn Louder, Mecklenburg County, NC A&T State University
  • Sarah McAllister, Catawba County, University of Mount Olive
  • Nathan Motsinger, Forsyth County, NC State University
  • Adam Mottershead, Wake County, Western Carolina University
  • Lauren Slakter, Guilford County,  NC State University
  • Adam Wheeler, Wayne County, Wayne Community College
  • Sarah White, Gates County, NC State University
  • Shade Wilbanks, Transylvania County, University of Mount Olive